Contact Us

The Association may be contacted through its Secretary,

Peter F Durnin, KC*SG, KM, GCHS, "Rosaire", Moneymore, Drogheda, Co Louth. A92 RF6F



The Pontifical Order of the Golden Spur

golden-spurThe Pontifical Order of the Golden Spur

The Supreme Order of Christ

supreme order of ChristThe Supreme Order of Christ 

Order of Pius IX (Pian Order)

Pius OrderFounded by Pope Pius IX on June 17, 1847, the Order recognises outstanding service for the Church and society and may be awarded to non-Catholics as well as Catholics. The title of nobility formerly attached to membership was abolished by Pius XII in 1939. In 1957 he instituted the Grand Collar as the highest category of the Order, complementing the other classes of Knights and Dames of the Grand Cross (GCPO); Knight and Dame Commanders with star (con Placa) (KC*PO, DC*PO) and without star (KCPO, DCPO); and Knights and Dames (KPO/DPO). The words Virtuti et Merito (Virtue and Merit) are engraved around the white medallion in the centre which portrays the name of the founder. The feast day of Blessed Pius IX is 7 February.

Order of St. Gregory the Great

gregoryFirst established by Pope Gregory XVI in September 1831 to honour citizens of the Papal States, the Order is conferred on persons who are distinguished for personal character, reputation and notable accomplishment on behalf of the Church and society, regardless of their religious affiliation. Uniquely, this order has civil and military divisions. There are three classes of membership: Knights and Dames Grand Cross (GCSG); Knight and Dame Commanders with star (KC*SG, DC*SG) and without star (KCSG, DCSG); and Knights and Dames (KSG, DSG). The eight-pointed cross of red enamel portrays St. Gregory with the motto Pro Deo et Principe (For God and Prince) on the reverse. Insignia are suspended from a red and gold ribbon. The feast day of St. Gregory the Great is 3 September. 

Order of Saint Sylvester, Pope and Martyr

sylvesterInstituted by Pope Gregory XVI on October 31, 1841 to subsume the Order of the Golden Spur, the Order was then divided in two by Pope Pius X in 1905, one retaining the name of Pope Saint Sylvester and the other, the Golden Militia. The purpose of the Order is to recognise and reward lay men and women active in the apostolate in particular in the exercise of their professional duties, as well as masters of the different arts. Again there are three classes: Knights and Dames of the Grand Cross (GCSS); Knight and Dame Commanders with star (KC*SS, DC*SS) and without star (KCSS, DCSS); and Knights and Dames (KSS, DSS). The decoration of the Order is a gold cross of white enamelled surface in the centre of which is impressed the image of St. Sylvester surrounded by a blue enamelled circle bearing the inscription SANC. SYLVESTER P. M. in gold. The reverse portrays the Papal tiara and crossed keys with the dates of the Order’s restoration under Pope Gregory XVI and its renovation under Pope Pius X impressed in gold upon a blue circle. The ribbon of the decoration is black silk with three narrow red stripes. The feast day of St. Sylvester is December 31.